Past Simple or Past Progressive

Choose the correct answer.

I like orange juice.

Andy and Lucy are staying with us at the moment.

We aren’t going to school every day.

What are you doing? ~ I’m listening to my new MP3 player.

I meet my friends in the café after school on Fridays.

Look! Sidney‘s wearing his school uniform!

Do you want to play football? ~ Not now. I‘m having dinner.

What do you usually have for breakfast?

Have you got any ice cream? Yes, I have.    

Does Kyle know Jamie Chandler?

l‘m looking for a present but I can’t find anything good.

Is football your favourite sport? ~ Yes, but I‘m often playing basketball too.

My brother and I don’t get up early at the weekend.

Are your parents working at the moment? ~ No, they aren’t.

My baby sister cries all the time.

Use the past simple or past progressive to complete the sentences.

1. George  fell (fall) off the ladder while he was painting (paint) the ceiling.

2. Last night I was reading (read) in the bed when I suddenly heard (hear) a scream.

3. were you watching (you watch) TV when I called (call) you?

4. Ann was waiting (wait) for me when I arrived (arrive).

5. I wasn’t driving (not drive) very fast when the accident happened (happen).

6. I broke (break) a plate last night. I was washing (wash) the dishes when it slipped (slip) out of my hand.

7. Tom took (take) some photos when I was playing (play) in the garden.

8. We didn’t go (not go) out because it was raining (rain).

9. What did you do (you do) last week?

10. I saw (see) Carol at the party. She was wearing (wear) a new dress.

11. The cell phone rang (ring) when I was taking (take) a shower.

12. It began (begin) to rain when I was walking (walk) home.

13. We saw (see) an accident when we were waiting (wait) for the bus.

14. The children slept (sleep) all night.

15. The car made (make) strange noises all the way home.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started